Eight Nittany Lions Take Home a Title at the Keystone Classic

Eight Nittany Lions Take Home a Title at the Keystone Classic

Penn State crowned eight champions and won the Keystone Classic tournament on Sunday in Philadelphia.

The Nittany Lions totaled 245.0 points for first place followed by the University of Pittsburgh with 121.5 and Eastern Michigan with 110.5.

The eight champions included freshman Nick Suriano (125), junior Zain Retherford (149), sophomore Jason Nolf (157), freshman Vincenzo Joseph (165), sophomore Shakur Rasheed (174), sophomore Bo Nickal (184), junior Matt McCutcheon (197) and sophomore Nick Nevills (HWT).

Some notable moments from the tournament consisted of Rasheed’s win over teammate and this season’s starter at 174, senior Geno Morelli. No. 9 Nevills upset his No. 8 opponent to win the heavyweight finals. The 197 final was also a close matchup, No. 14 McCutcheon won by two over No. 16 Frank Mattiace. Not to mention, Retherford pinned all five of his opponents.

But arguably the best performance of the day was freshman No. 12 Vincenzo Joseph. Joseph was named FloWrestling’s wrestler of the week after beating the No. 5 Chad Walsh and No. 15 Te’Shawn Campbell on his way to the title. He also tallied two tech falls before the semis against Walsh. He breezed right past Walsh beating him 12-5. Campbell posed more of a challenge in the finals but Joseph still put up a solid 9-5 win for the title.

After a week off over the holiday, the Nittany Lions return home for their BJC matchup against Lehigh on Sunday, December 4. The dual starts at 12:00 p.m. and will be aired on the Big Ten Network.


125: #6 Nick Suriano beat Eastern Michigan’s Noah Gonser in finals– 12-4, First place

125: Patrick Higgins, lost to VMI’s Dalten Henderson in consolation qualifier– 0-12, DNP

133: #9 Jered Cortez beat Eastern Michigan’s Shayne Wireman in third place match– WBF (0:44), Third Place

133: George Carpenter lost to Eastern Michigan’s Shayne Wireman in consolation match– 4-7, DNP

141: #11 Jimmy Gulibon lost to Appalachian State’s Irvin Enriquez in consolation qualifier– LBF (1:21), DNP

141: Kade Moss lost to Eastern Michigan’s Kyle Springer in finals– 2-5, Second place

141: Dominic Giannangeli beat Appalachian State’s Irvin Enriquez in fifth place match– 8-7, Fifth place

149: #1 Zain Retherford beat Appalachian State’s Matthew Zovistoski in finals– WBF (2:46), First place

149: Gary Dinmore lost to Pitt’s Mikey Racciato, Pittsburgh in third place match– 5-9, Fourth place

157: #1 Jason Nolf beat Penn’s #19 May Bethea in finals– 25-10 (TF; 6:04), First place

165: #12 Vincenzo Joseph beat Pitt’s #13 Te’Shawn Campbell in finals– 9-5, First place

165: Caleb Livingston Sr lost to Penn’s Joseph Velliquette in consolation match– 6-8 (TB), DNP

174: #13 Geno Morelli lost to PSU’s Shakur Rasheed in finals– 1-2 (TB2), Second place

174: Shakur Rasheed beat PSU’s #13 Geno Morelli in finals– 2-1 (TB2), First place

184: #3 Bo Nickal beat Northwestern’s Mitch Sliga in finals– WBF (6:34), First place

184: Devon Van Cura lost to Eastern Michigan’s Kayne Maccallum in consolation match- LBF (TB; 8:56), DNP

197: #14 Matt McCutcheon beat Penn’s #16 Frank Mattiace in finals– 3-1, First place

197: Kellan Stout beat Appalachian State’s Randall Diabe in fifth place match– 8-6, Fifth place

285: #9 Nick Nevills beat Appalachian State’s #8 Denzel Dejournette in finals– 8-3, First place