Day 2: Five Nittany Lions in the Finals

Day 2: Five Nittany Lions in the Finals

Seven of Penn State’s eight wrestlers are still alive and well in the hunt for a place in the National Championships.

Senior 141, Jimmy Gulibon, dropped a hard fought decision in the consolation matchups during session three.

The Lions extended their lead Friday afternoon and put five wrestlers in the semifinals for Friday evening.

Retherford posted another tech fall– his third of the tournament. Nolf and Nickal both scored pins and Hall worked for a major. Joseph rounded out the final Nittany Lion continuing in the hunt for a first place National Title.

McCutcheon and Nevills both lost and moved into the consolation brackets.


  1. Penn State- 74.0

  2. Ohio State, Iowa- 57.5

  3. Cornell, Oklahoma State- 47.0

In session four, No. 1 seed Zain Retherford finally got the fall he’s been working for. He moves on to the 149 finals to face No. 3 seed Lavion Mayes of Missouri.

No. 1 seed Jason Nolf picked up a major and will also face a Missouri wrestler in the finals Saturday night, No. 3 seed Joey Lavallee.

Penn State continued its streak of individual upsets at 165 and 174. No. 3 seed Joseph beat No. 2 seed Logan Massa in a 5-4 decision. Joseph gets a rematch with No. 1 seed and two-time national champion from Illinois, Isaiah Martinez, in the finals Saturday night.

Freshman No. 5 seed Mark Hall had a huge upset win over Arizona State’s No. 1 seed Zahid Valencia. Thanks to a crucial coaches challenge for a headgear hold against Valencia and a final takedown towards the end by Hall, the Nittany Lion heads to the finals. He will face Ohio State’s No. 3 Bo Jordan.

For the second time this year, sophomore Bo Nickal pinned No. 3 seed Sammy Brooks of Iowa. This time it was at the :38 mark. In the finals he faces the biggest competition he’s seen this season­– No. 1 seed Gabe Dean of Cornell.

Session five will include the wrestle backs from the losses in session four. It starts at 11 a.m., Saturday, March 18 with coverage on ESPNU. Session six includes the championship finals. It starts at 8 p.m. Saturday, March 18 with coverage on ESPN.


  1. Penn State- 121.0

  2. Ohio State- 89.5

  3. Oklahoma State- 86.0

  4. Missouri- 81.5

  5. Iowa- 74.0